15 prices re-checked weekly against the seller’s own store0 sponsored placementsEvery price dated and sourcedData last checked: 2026-09-22

The Electrical Reality Report

By Md Hasan · Updated 2026-09-22 · Editorial policy · How we rank

Some brands below are disclosed affiliate partners, some declined us, and some pay us nothing. The record treats them identically — the sharpest finding on this page is about a brand we earn from. Full disclosure
8 of 10
published specs require a dedicated circuit
2
run on ordinary 120V and still need one
4
sellers publish no electrical spec at all
2
might genuinely plug into an existing outlet

One word decides whether a sauna is an appliance or a building project: dedicated. It means the unit needs its own circuit run back to your panel — an electrician, a permit in most places, and a cost nobody puts in the product price. Of the 10 products whose electrical specifications we could read, 8 require one.

The trap: 120V does not mean plug-in

Most buyers read voltage as the tell. 240V means an electrician; 120V is the voltage of every socket in the house, so it sounds like something you unbox and plug in. That inference is wrong for 2 of the products here.

The Peak Saunas Everest is the clearest case. Its own product page states “Dedicated 120V, 20A Outlet” in the specification. Further down the same page sits a customer review saying it “runs on a standard 120V outlet, so there was no need for special electrical work.” Both sentences are on the page a buyer reads before spending $7,950. Only one of them is the specification.

We also found that same review text displayed on the Peak Denali and Patagonia pages, which are 240V products.

The arithmetic worth doing yourself

The Dynamic Saunas Barcelona lists “Electrical service: 120V/15amp” and never uses the word dedicated. But its heaters are rated 1.8 kW, and 1,800 W at 120 V is 15 A — the entire rating of a 15 A circuit, with nothing left over for anything else on it.

Whether that is acceptable on a shared circuit, and what the rules require for a load that runs for an hour at a time, is a question for a licensed electrician looking at your actual panel. We are not answering it. We are pointing out that the number the seller published and the number the heaters draw are the same number, and that this is worth raising before you order rather than after.

Every specification we could read

ProductPublished specDedicated?What the seller statesSource
Almost Heaven Pinnacle 4-Person Barrel240V / 30ADedicated circuit required6 kW heater, 240V 30A, hard-wired; separate 120V 15A plug-in circuit for the lightingsource
2026-09-22
Almost Heaven Salem 2-Person Barrel240V / 30ADedicated circuit required6 kW heater, 240V 30A, hard-wired; separate 110V 15A plug-in circuit for the lightingsource
2026-09-22
Redwood Outdoors Thermowood Cabin 4-Person240V / 30ADedicated circuit required6 kW Harvia KIP heater, 240V 30A hard-wired as supplied; 8-9 kW heater upgrades raise the requirementsource
2026-09-22
Peak Saunas Denali 3-Person (indoor, full spectrum)240V / 20ADedicated circuit requiredDedicated 240V 20A outlet; professional installation recommended by the manufacturersource
2026-09-22
Peak Saunas Patagonia 2-Person Outdoor240V / 20ADedicated circuit requiredDedicated 240V 20A outletsource
2026-09-22
Sun Home Saunas Luminar 2-Person Outdoor Full-Spectrum240V / 20ADedicated circuit requiredDedicated 240V GFCI circuit, NEMA L6-20 twist-locksource
2026-09-22
Peak Saunas Everest 2-Person (indoor, full spectrum)120V / 20ADedicated circuit requiredDedicated 120V 20A outletsource
2026-09-22
Dynamic Saunas Barcelona 2-Person120V / 15ANot stated as dedicatedStated as "Electrical service: 120V/15amp". The seller does not use the word "dedicated" — but the heaters draw 1.8 kW, which is 15A at 120V, the entire rating of a 15A circuitsource
2026-09-22
Plunge All-In Gen 2120V / 15ADedicated circuit requiredDedicated 120V 15A circuit; built-in 7 ft cord with GFCIsource
2026-09-22
Nordic Wave Viking Premier120VNot stated as dedicatedStandard 120V wall outlet per the manufacturer FAQ; no dedicated circuit stated and no amperage publishedsource
2026-09-22

The sellers who publish nothing

4 products in our set have no electrical specification on the product page at all — in some cases a running-cost figure in kWh, but no voltage, no amperage, no circuit requirement. That is a gap the buyer discovers after delivery.

ProductChecked
Ice Barrel 500 + Chiller bundlepage checked 2026-09-22
Plunge Chill Cold Plunge Chiller (1/3 HP)page checked 2026-09-22
Plunge Chill Cold Plunge Tub + Chiller (Pod)page checked 2026-09-22
Plunge Chill 1HP Cold Plunge Chillerpage checked 2026-09-22

What to do with this

Before you order anything here, get the answer to one question in writing: “Does this require a dedicated circuit, and at what voltage and amperage?” Then put that answer into our electrical checker to see what it means for your panel, and into the true-cost calculator before you compare it against anything else. A seller who will not answer in writing has told you something.

How to read this honestly

This is what sellers publish, not what your installation needs. We record the manufacturer’s stated requirement on the date shown. Your actual installation depends on your panel, your existing circuits, the run length and your local code — all of which require a licensed electrician. Nothing here is electrical advice and none of it substitutes for the installation manual or a qualified inspection.

Limits. 6 products in our database have no electrical record yet and are not counted in any figure above. Specifications change without notice. Where a seller states a requirement for a base configuration, heater upgrades can raise it — the Redwood cabin ships with a 6 kW heater and offers 8 kW and 9 kW options that do not carry the same requirement. “Not stated as dedicated” in the table above means exactly that: the seller did not say so. It is not our finding that a shared circuit is adequate.

Use this data

Free to cite, quote and republish, including commercially, with attribution to SaunaClear and a link to this page. You do not need to ask. Journalists and electricians: if you find an error, we publish corrections — hello@saunaclear.com.

Download the report (CSV) See also: the Sale Index

Suggested citation: “The SaunaClear Electrical Reality Report, 15 home sauna and cold plunge products, specifications read 2026-09-22. https://saunaclear.com/electrical-reality/”
Did this change what you will ask the seller?

We re-read these specifications

Requirements change quietly when a model is revised. We check, and we will tell you when one moves — along with genuine price drops on anything we track.

Free. No spam, no selling your address, one-click unsubscribe.

Method: voltage, amperage and circuit requirements read directly from each seller’s own published product page on the date shown, with a link to the source in every row. Where a seller publishes no specification we record the absence and the page we checked rather than estimating. Electrical work: licensed electricians only. Spot an error? hello@saunaclear.com — corrections are published, not buried.