Three of the most-recommended chiller plunges in 2026: $5,290, $5,749, $6,990 — verified against each manufacturer's own site. That third number moved on us: the Viking's $5,990 "sale" we saw while researching was already back at full price by our first automated check hours later, and every check since reads $6,990 (price tracker). The decision comes down to three things the roundups bury: warranty structure, body position, and how cold you actually need the water.
| Plunge (Original + Pro Chiller Gen 2) | Ice Barrel 500 + Chiller | Nordic Wave Viking Premier | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (checked 2026-08-08/10) | $5,290 promo (reg. $6,990) | $5,749 | $6,990 (brief $5,990 sale vanished within hours — tracked) |
| Position | Recline, legs extended | Upright seated soak (fits to 6'9") | Semi-recline tub |
| Cold floor | 37°F stated | Not stated — ask | Not stated — ask |
| Electrical | Dedicated 120V 15A circuit | Standard 120V | Standard 120V |
| Tub warranty | 1 yr (2-yr promo running) | “Lifetime” — capped at 3 yrs in their terms | 5 yr |
| Chiller warranty | 1 yr | Ask before buying | 1 yr |
| Included | Cover, 6-mo maintenance kit, curbside delivery | Insulated barrel, cover, chiller ports | Cover options, 4 colors |
Every unit here pairs a tub that can't really fail catastrophically with a chiller — a compressor appliance that absolutely can. Notice the pattern: tub warranties run 1 year to lifetime, but every stated chiller warranty is 1 year. The component most likely to die is the least covered on all three. Before buying any of them, ask two questions in writing: what does a replacement chiller cost, and what does an out-of-warranty compressor repair cost? (This is red flag #6 in our vetting guide — warranties that exclude what actually fails.)
Cold tolerance is easier seated upright (Ice Barrel) than reclined with legs extended (Plunge) — many owners find full-leg immersion dramatically harder. If you're plunging for consistency, the barrel's posture is a feature, not a compromise. If you want gym-style full-body immersion and the most polished product experience, that's Plunge's lane. The Viking Premier splits the difference and carries the best tub-warranty balance of the tub-style pair.
All three run 120V chillers cycling on and off; realistic electricity is $10–30/month for daily use at average rates, more in hot ambient heat, roughly halved by a good insulated lid. Add $5–15/month for water treatment. The differences between these three units' running costs are noise compared to the warranty and posture differences — model your own rate in the True-Cost Calculator.
All three of these are convenience purchases as much as cold-water purchases. If you plunge on a schedule rather than on impulse, our cold plunge chiller guide lays out the $499 and $1,649 routes to the same water temperature, and states plainly what you give up.
Best posture for consistency: Ice Barrel 500 bundle — a “lifetime” barrel warranty that caps at 3 years, upright posture that keeps people plunging, US-made. Most polished experience: Plunge — lowest verified price of the three during its current promo, stated 37°F floor, best included kit; accept the 1-year tub warranty knowingly (and grab the 2-year extension while the promo runs). Best tub-style middle ground: Viking Premier — its 5-year tub warranty is the category's best among recline tubs, though at the current $6,990 full price you're paying $1,700 over Plunge's promo for that coverage; wait for a real sale (our tracker will catch it) or use the auto-applied MD150 discount code (affiliate link; verify the discounted total at checkout before paying). And if $5–6K is a stretch: the $1,149 Ice Barrel 300 plus ice gets you the same cold for a fifth of the price while you find out whether you'll still plunge in February.
Prices and specs from manufacturer sites, captured 2026-08-08/09 — all three run promos that change; confirm before ordering (anchor-pricing caveat: two of three show permanent-sale patterns). Cold-water immersion isn't for everyone — cardiovascular conditions warrant a physician's OK first. Corrections: hello@saunaclear.com.